My First “Figure Drawing Session”

13 Feb

I had my very first experience modeling for a figure drawing session the other week. My most recent friend, Michael Cepress (fashion designer), was the lead artist in a small art studio in south Seattle. The instructor turned on a few heaters for me and gave me some ideas on how to pose. Behind a white sheet, I took off my clothes, nervous in all the right spots.  And then I stepped out into the light, into everyone’s sight.  Suddenly there were sounds of pencils moving quickly across papers, a soft whispering trail of dark chalk that unfolded an awkward image of me. And then I slowly didn’t mind this experience. It almost turned into a sort of meditation and became quite relaxing. The session lasted three hours.

Leave a Reply

